Poultry & Beef

Ballpark Italian Spaghetti Squash Casserole

DSC03670_fotor

Take me out to the ball game, take me out with the crowd!

If you know my husband well, you know he lives and breathes baseball. I’m pretty sure he knew I was “the one” on our first date when he learned I’m a baseball lover, but I’m pretty positive I quickly broke his heart when I told him I’m a Yankees fan.

I met my husband during college – I was a sophomore and he was a senior. He stayed at Wake Forest to complete his masters degree, which gave us an extra year together at the same school. We spent two spring break vacations in Florida attending a handful of the spring training baseball games. Those trips and the countless games we attended are some of my most treasured memories together. It was hilarious seeing this patient, reserved, southern gentleman, who I still didn’t know extremely well, completely go bonkers when the ump made a questionable call or when the Cards hit a grand slam. It was even funnier (and more enjoyable) watching his reaction when the Yankees beat the Cardinals…but I’ll leave that story for later.

We haven’t been back to Florida in a couple years (thanks adulthood, you’re so great), and spring training is an experience we miss terribly every March. In an attempt to make up for this, I gave Gray tickets to see the Washington Nationals play for our first wedding anniversary. We went to the game last month and loved every minute, especially since we were able to spend a weekend with our sweet friends Tim and Mary Scott who live in DC. Time with them is seriously golden.

We decided to eat dinner at the game, and let’s just say for a health food blogger and wellness enthusiast, ballpark food is slim pickins’. While Gray made a bee line for the classic hotdog with fries, I made circles around the stadium for a few innings of the game. I was desperately searching for something semi-healthy or even semi-NON processed and junky. Uhg. I struggled for real.

I ended up settling for a $12 grilled chicken sandwich (sans bun) with lettuce (iceberg – blah), tomato, and lots of yellow mustard. As I reluctantly ate my previously frozen “chicken,” I couldn’t help but notice the countless fans indulging in Italian sausage dogs with grilled peppers and onions. They sure did smell good, and I was kind of jealous I didn’t get one for myself. So that’s why I made this dish. Not only as a way to diminish my ballpark dinner choice envy, but to also make a classic favorite into a healthier dinner option that can be enjoyed in the comfort of your own home.


Here’s what you’ll need:

1 small spaghetti squash

1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon of fresh ground pepper

1/2 teaspoon of dried Italian seasoning

2 large links of sweet Italian chicken sausage (I like Al Fresco All Natural; you can also use hot if preferred)

1 teaspoon of olive oil

1/2 medium yellow onion, diced

5 sweet mini bell peppers, or 1 large bell pepper

2-3 large cloves of garlic, minced

2 small or 1 medium vine ripe tomato, diced (optional)

1 heaping cup of tuscan kale, chopped (large stems removed)

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/8 teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper

Juice from 1/2 small lemon

1/2 cup of provolone or pepper jack cheese, shredded

Fresh basil for garnish 

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Prepare the squash by carefully cutting it in half and scooping out the seeds. Lightly brush with oil and sprinkle with a bit of salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. Bake cut side down for 30-45 minutes.

While the squash is baking, heat a medium nonstick skillet over medium heat. Remove the sausage from its casing and brown while crumbling with a wooden spoon or spatula.

DSC03662

Remove the sausage from the pan and set aside on a paper towel lined plate to drain.

Return the empty pan to medium heat and drizzle with olive oil. Add the onions and peppers. Sauté for about 5 minutes. Then add the garlic. Sauté for 2-3 minutes. Reduce the heat to low. Add the tomatoes (if using) and kale. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for another few minutes and then add the cooked sausage and lemon juice. Stir and remove from the heat.

DSC03661

DSC03663

DSC03665

Once the squash is cooked, use a fork to pull the squash away from the skin into an oven safe baking dish. Stir the sausage and veggie mixture in with the squash. Sprinkle with cheese and bake on broil setting for about 5 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and brown.

DSC03666

Garnish with fresh basil and serve!

DSC03667

This is a fun, flavorful dish that’s easy to make and filled with nutritious veggies. I love all the colors, too 🙂

DSC03675

Enjoy, live well, and play ball!

Kelsey

4 thoughts on “Ballpark Italian Spaghetti Squash Casserole

  1. This casserole really looks flavorful and pretty too! I know my husband would like it due to the sausage. I would love it because of the vegetables. I am putting it on my to make list – so many recipes, so little time! 🙂

Leave a comment